2012 in review: Thank you!

31 12 2012

Well, we made it through another Olympics, a seemingly endless election year cycle, the last gasps of a recession, and most recently, the Mayan Calendar prediction of the world’s demise. But for all that we weathered, there were a few events we will never fully “make it through” because they struck to the core of what it means to live in a civilized age, the most recent and certainly most tragically poignant one being the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting. May some measure of peace continue to descend on Newtown, CT in the long aftermath of this sad tragedy.

In the face of such realities, this blog is a modest venture, meant originally to be nothing more than a vent for my own thoughts. That so many of you are interested in it humbles me. I began this blog with the intention of being its only reader. Then a few students got wind of it, and then a few friends, and before long I was told to take it “public,” whatever that meant (it meant, actually, telling people about its existence and actually listing tags with my blogs ~ which I still forget to do from time to time). But at the end of the day, even if I were the only one to read these entries, I’d be perfectly content. This blog helps me think, allows me to sort out what matters to me most, and keeps me from running cars off the road on the 210.

And to my lone viewer from Paraguay, Gracias! and Aguyje!

Here’s to humble ventures, whatever they may look like, and to the coming year. May it be an even better vintage than 2012.

Happy New Year!

(If you’re struggling with insomnia, here is a report provided by the good folks at WordPress detailing the modest stats related to this blog):

Click here to see the complete report.

Actions

Information




